2020 Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award Winner


Executive Director
Ron Corey, PhD, MBA
16 Carolyn Court
East Hanover, NJ 07936

Lindsay Kunkle Selected as
2020 Recipient of the
Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award

December 16, 2019, East Hanover, NJ – In the 34th annual presentation, the Pharmacy Leadership and Education Institute has named Lindsay L. Kunkle, PharmD, MBA of Alexandria, VA the 2020 recipient of the Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award. Dr. Kunkle is the Senior Director of Practice Advancement for the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). She is being recognized for her leadership through practice-based research, consensus development, professional organization leadership, and developing and growing APhA programs that advance pharmacy practice and pharmacist engagement in the profession. Dr. Kunkle will receive her award and deliver a scholarly address during the APhA Annual Meeting in National Harbor, Maryland on the evening of Saturday, March 21, 2020.

The Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award recognizes a pharmacist less than 10 years past graduation for demonstrating exemplary leadership qualities indicative of someone likely to emerge as a major leader in pharmacy over the course of his or her career. It has evolved from an award first presented in 1987 by Phi Delta Chi to recognize leadership by a young pharmacist. It is currently coordinated by the Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI), with major support from the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society. In conjunction with accepting the award, each recipient delivers a scholarly lecture on issues such as pharmacy as a profession, leadership, or future trends in pharmacy practice or education.

The selection committee was comprised of PLEI Board Member Dennis Worthen, who served as Chair of the Committee; PLEI Board Members Michael Moné and Phi Delta Chi President Andrea Bourque; Phi Lambda Sigma President Elect Jordan Ballou, and by the last four winners of this prestigious award: T. Joseph “Joey” Mattingly II, Robert Pugliese, Afton Wagner, and Joshua Neumiller.

About Lindsay L. Kunkle, PharmD, MBA
Dr. Kunkle began her career at the APhA Foundation as the Executive Resident in Association Management and Leadership. When her residency was over, APhA retained her talent as a Project Management Specialist within the APhA Foundation where she directed research and innovation projects. Dr. Kunkle played a key role in the management of Project IMPACT: Diabetes and several other practice-based research and consensus development projects. During a portion of her tenure, Dr. Kunkle served as a shared staff member with the Center for Disease Controls in the Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention, allowing her to help develop translational guides to facilitate public health – pharmacy partnerships.

Upon moving from the APhA Foundation to APhA, Dr. Kunkle led the effort to reinvigorate APhA’s Special Interest Groups, representing more than 15,000 APhA members. She has also created over a dozen resources to advance pharmacy practice. Dr. Kunkle currently manages operations for ADVANCE®, APhA’s new continuous professional development platform, and continues to create tools and resources for pharmacists to enhance their patient care service delivery.

Dr. Kunkle is an active member of the Phi Delta Chi fraternity, having served in many elected and appointed roles, including Grand Vice President for Alumni Affairs and National Treasurer, and was the Chartering President of the Greater Washington DC Area Alumni Chapter. She is also a member of Phi Lambda Sigma, ASAE – The Center for Association Leadership, and the American Pharmacists Association. Dr. Kunkle graduated magna cum laude from the Rutgers University, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy in 2010 and earned her MBA from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Geis School of Business in 2018.

About Albert B. Prescott
Albert Prescott was Dean of Pharmacy at the University of Michigan from 1870 to 1905. A maverick, he was rebuffed by APhA for his heretical view that pharmacy should be an education-based profession – not an experienced-based trade. The credentials committee at the 1871 APhA convention rejected Prescott as unworthy of being seated as a voting delegate. But Prescott persevered. By the 1890s, Prescott’s vision and convictions were proven correct. The rest of the country began to follow Prescott’s lead. Ironically, he was eventually elected president of APhA in 1899, and became the 0first president of the organization we now know as the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), when it was founded in 1900.

About the Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute, Inc.
The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI) develops leaders among student pharmacists and pharmacists by conducting programs to improve leadership skills, to strengthen the profession as a whole, and thereby advance the public health. PLEI strives to reach as many student pharmacists and pharmacists as possible, in a variety of venues, to help them grow in their personal leadership skills, giving them examples of how to apply these skills in pharmacy settings (e.g., ambulatory, inpatient, long-term care, corporate, academia, government) and in their personal lives. PLEI coordinates the Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award, Leader Development Seminars, Leader Development Institute, the Lead←Grow→Shape leadership workbook, and other educational events for pharmacists and student pharmacists. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) recognizes PLEI as a 501(c)(3) charitable organization; EIN 58-2296988.


Download Press Release (PDF)