Prescott Award

Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award presented in conjunction with Phi Lambda Sigma


Nominations for the 2019 Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Awards are now being accepted. 

To nominate a candidate for the 2019 Prescott award, click here. 

Robert S. Pugliese is Awarded the 2018 Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award

To read more about Dr. Pugliese, click here.


Lithograph painting of Dr. Prescott by Robert Thom, from the Parke-Davis History of Pharmacy Collection

Lithograph painting of Dr. Prescott by Robert Thom, from the Parke-Davis History of Pharmacy Collection

The Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award, first presented in 1987, is given annually to a young pharmacist no more than 10 years into his or her career. The award is coordinated by PLEI. The recipient shall have demonstrated exemplary leadership qualities as a young pharmacist indicative of someone likely to emerge as a major leader in pharmacy over the course of his or her career.

Albert B. Prescott was a maverick in the late 1800s because of his advocacy for an academic basis for pharmaceutical education. Founder and Dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Michigan, Prescott nurtured his idea for nearly 25 years before the rest of the profession caught up with him. This chemist, educator, and leader of pharmacists helped found Phi Delta Chi at the University of Michigan in 1883.

Prescott Award winners from left to right: Walter Fitzgerald 1987; Timothy Tucker 1996; Jeffrey Neigh 2010; Brad Tice 2005; Robert Pugliese 2018; Macary Marciniak 2008; Nancy Alvarez 1997; Alex Adams 2015

The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI), Phi Lambda Sigma,  and several prior recipients select the recipient of the Prescott Leadership Award. The Award is presented annually during the APhA Annual Meeting, at which time the recipient delivers a scholarly lecture on issues such as pharmacy as a profession, leadership, or future trends in pharmacy practice or education. The winner receives a framed print of Albert B. Prescott with his students and an honorarium.

For information about nominating a young pharmacy leader for the next Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award, email Macary Marciniak at


2018: Robert Pugliese

2017: Afton M. Wagner

2016: Joshua Neumiller

2015: Alex J. Adams

2015: Alex J. Adams

2014: Sonak Poastakia

2014: Sonak Pastakia

Previous Award Winners
1987 Walter Lee Fitzgerald
1988 Lucinda Louise Maine
1989 Heidi Milia Anderson
1990 Janet Engle
1991 Kathleen D. Lake
1992 John Coster
1993 Mary Eloises Indritz
1994 Mitchel C. Rothholz
1995 Kelly Hasty-Kale
1996 Timothy Tucker
1997 Nancy A. Alvarez
1998 Christopher J. Decker
1999 Jeanne Ann Stasny
2000 Tina Penick-Brock
2001 Edwin H. Adams
2002 Christopher R. McCurdy
2003 Jennifer Cerulli
2004 John Musil
2005 Bradley Tice
2006 Michael J. Negrete
2007 David A. Medvedeff
2008 Macary Marciniak
2009 Scott Evans
2010 Jeffrey Neigh
2011 Timothy W. Cutler
2012 Conan MacDougall
2013 Robert Schoenhaus
2014 Sonak Pastakia
2015 Alex. J. Adams
2016 Joshua J. Neumiller
2017 Afton M. Wagner
2018 Robert S. Pugliese