

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Executive Director Ron Corey, PhD, MBA 16 Carolyn Court East Hanover, NJ 07936 973/884-4757 rcorey@plei.org

In our 33<sup>nd</sup> annual presentation,
The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI) announces
T. Joseph "Joey" Mattingly II, PharmD, MBA, recipient of the
Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award for 2019

January 7, 2019, East Hanover, NJ – T. Joseph "Joey" Mattingly II, PharmD, MBA, Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, will be honored with the 2019 Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award during the Annual Meeting of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) in Seattle, WA, on Saturday evening, March 23, 2019, when he will give a scholarly address. Dr. Mattingly currently serves as an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, where he teaches business strategy to PharmD students and is a strategic consultant for the University of Maryland Medical Center. In addition to his work as a faculty member, he serves as Director of Operations for the PATIENTS Program and Principal for A & J Consulting, LLC. He is also a PhD candidate in Pharmaceutical Health Services Research with a special focus in pharmacoeconomics. His research focuses on a mixed-method approach to incorporate the patient voice in economic evaluations and other value assessment frameworks.

An award for leadership by a young pharmacist was established by Phi Delta Chi in 1987. The Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award is given annually to a pharmacist no more than 10 years into his or her career. The recipient delivers a scholarly lecture on issues such as pharmacy as a profession, leadership, or future trends in pharmacy practice or education.

Albert Prescott was dean of pharmacy at the University of Michigan from 1870 to 1905. A maverick, he was rebuffed by APhA for his heretical view that pharmacy should be an education-based profession – not an experienced-based trade. The credentials committee at the 1871 APhA convention rejected Prescott as unworthy of being seated as a voting delegate. But Prescott persevered. By the 1890s, Prescott's vision and convictions were proven correct. The rest of the country began to follow Prescott's lead. Ironically, he was eventually elected president of APhA in 1899, and became the first president of the organization we now know as the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), when it was founded in 1900.

Today, the Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award is coordinated by the Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI), with major support from the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society. The selection committee was comprised of PLEI Board Member Dennis Worthen, who served as Chair of the Committee; PLEI Board members Michael Mone, and Phi Delta Chi President Traci Thompson; Brian Esters, President-elect of Phi Lambda Sigma, and by previous winners of this prestigious award: Afton Wagner, Alex J. Adams, Joshua J. Neumiller and Robert S. Pugliese.



## About Joey Mattingly – PharmD, MBA, Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy



Joey Mattingly, PharmD, MBA

After graduating from the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and Gatton College of Business and Economics, Dr. Mattingly dove directly into pharmacy practice for The Kroger Company as an EPRN super trainer, facilitating the implementation of a new pharmacy information system to more than 40 pharmacies. After completion of the pharmacy system rollout, he managed four different Kroger Pharmacy locations between 2010 and 2012 before being promoted to serve as District 6 Pharmacy Coordinator in Carbondale, Illinois, overseeing operations for 12 pharmacies.

In 2013, Dr. Mattingly left The Kroger Company to lead Indianapolis operations as general manager for a start-up long-term care company called AlixaRx, providing pharmacy services and remote automated dispensing systems to 23 skilled nursing facilities across Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio. He currently serves as an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, where he teaches business strategy to students in the professional program and is a strategic consultant for the University of Maryland Medical Center Department of Pharmacy. In 2016, Dr. Mattingly was selected as the graduating class Teacher of the Year.

In addition to his work as a faculty member, he serves as the Director of Operations for the PATIENTS Program and is a PhD candidate in Pharmaceutical Health Services Research with a special focus in pharmacoeconomics. His research focuses on a mixed-method approach to incorporate the patient voice in economic evaluations and other value assessment frameworks.

## About Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute, Inc.

The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI) develops leaders among student pharmacists and pharmacists by conducting programs to improve leadership skills, to strengthen the profession as a whole, and thereby advance the public health.

PLEI strives to reach as many student pharmacists and pharmacists as possible, in a variety of venues, to help them grow in their personal leadership skills, giving them examples of how to apply these skills in pharmacy settings (e.g., ambulatory, inpatient, long-term care, corporate, academia, government) and in their personal lives.

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) recognizes PLEI as a 501(c)(3) charitable organization; EIN 582296988.

PLEI coordinates the Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award, Leader Development Seminars, Leader Development Institute, the *Lead*  $\leftarrow$  *Grow*  $\rightarrow$  *Shape* leadership workbook, and other educational events for pharmacists and student pharmacists. ####