Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award


Nominations for the 2024 Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award are now open.

The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute, along with the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society, invite you to nominate an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the first 10 years of their career as a pharmacist. The nominee should have received their pharmacy degree in 2014 or later. In advance of all nominations, we strongly recommend all nominators read our BEST PRACTICES document before submitting a nomination.

Nominations are due on November 6, 2023.

To view the nomination form and instructions, please click here.

Lithograph painting of Dr. Prescott by Robert Thom, from the Parke-Davis History of Pharmacy Collection

The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute, along with Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society, are proud to announce Lucas A. Berenbrok as the 2023 recipient of the Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award recipient. Read the press release to learn more about Luke, his accomplishments, and the award. 

Albert B. Prescott was a visionary and trailblazer in the late 1800s because of his advocacy for an academic basis for pharmaceutical education. Founder and Dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Michigan, Prescott nurtured his idea for nearly 25 years before the rest of the profession caught up with him. This chemist, educator, and leader of pharmacists helped found Phi Delta Chi at the University of Michigan in 1883.

The Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award, first presented in 1987, is given annually to a young pharmacist no more than 10 years after receipt of their PharmD. The recipient shall have demonstrated exemplary leadership qualities as a young pharmacist indicative of someone likely to emerge as a major leader in pharmacy over the course of their career. From its beginning, this has been a profession-wide recognition, not restricted to any fraternal group or practice setting.

The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI), Phi Lambda Sigma, and several prior recipients select the recipient of the Prescott Leadership Award. The Award is presented annually during the APhA Annual Meeting, at which time the recipient delivers a scholarly lecture on issues such as pharmacy as a profession, leadership, or future trends in pharmacy practice or education. The winner receives a tangible award and an honorarium

For information about nominating a young pharmacy leader for the next Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award, email Ron Corey at

Where are they now? Enjoy our retrospective on past Prescott Award Winners.

Previous Award Winners

1987Walter Lee FitzgeraldWhere is Walter now?
1988Lucinda Louise MaineWhere is Lucinda now?
1989Heidi Milia AndersonWhere is Heidi now?
1990Janet EngleWhere is Janet now?
1991Kathleen D. LakeWhere is Kathleen now?
1992John CosterWhere is John now?
1993Mary Eloises IndritzWhere is Mary now?
1994Mitchel C. RothholzWhere is Mitchel now?
1995Kelly Hasty-KaleWhere is Kelly now?
1996Timothy TuckerWhere is Timothy now?
1997Nancy A. AlvarezWhere is Nancy now?
1998Christopher J. DeckerWhere is Christopher now?
1999Jeanne Ann StasnyWhere is Jeanne now?
2000Tina Penick-BrockWhere is Tina now?
2001Edwin H. AdamsWhere is Edwin now?
2002Christopher R. McCurdyWhere is Christopher now?
2003Jennifer CerulliWhere is Jennifer now?
2004John MusilWhere is John now?
2005Bradley TiceWhere is Bradley now?
2006Michael J. NegreteWhere is Michael now?
2007David A. MedvedeffWhere is David now?
2008Macary MarciniakWhere is Macary now?
2009Scott EvansWhere is Scott now?
2010Jeffrey NeighWhere is Jeffrey now?
2011Timothy W. CutlerWhere is Timothy now?
2012Conan MacDougallWhere is Conan now?
2013Robert SchoenhausWhere is Robert now?
2014Sonak PastikiaWhere is Sonak now?
2015Alex J. AdamsWhere is Alex now?
2016Joshua J. NeumillerWhere is Joshua now?
2017Afton M. Wagner
2018Robert S. Pugliese
2019T. Joseph “Joey” Mattingly II
2020Lindsay Kunkle
2021Jennifer Bacci
2022Ryan C. Costantino

Stay In Touch

Please subscribe me to your mailing list.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.